7 Awardees Recognized at Leadership Breakfast Fri., June 2

Categories: Featured News, News Releases

HOPE Awards recognize people, organizations advancing behavioral health in Stark.

Keynotes address leadership during system change; StarkMHAR strategic plan announced.

05-11-17_HOPE-AwardsStark County, OH (May 10, 2017) Stark County Mental Health & Addiction Recovery will present seven HOPE Awards to honor local people and organizations who are making strides and influencing change to advance behavioral health in Stark County on Fri., June 2 at the StarkMHAR Leadership Breakfast. The event is from 7:30 a.m.- Noon and will be held at Walsh University Barrette Center located at 2020 E. Maple St. in North Canton, Ohio.

Canton Municipal Court, including Judges Curt Werren and Mary Falvey, will receive the Community Champion award for their partnership and specialized docket efforts; Shannon Ortiz will be presented the Advocate of the Year award for her volunteer work with NAMI Stark County and the community; Tae’Lor Windham, a Mt. Union student, will receive the Young Advocate of the Year award; and Christa McCabe, RN of the Crisis Intervention & Recovery Center will receive the Professional of the Year award; Lisa Jackson Wood, LPC, ATR will be presented with the Innovation award for her work in art-dance-music therapy with youth; and Jason DeWalt with PPI Graphics/Innovative Trends will be presented the Community Vision award.

The StarkMHAR Leadership Breakfast will feature a breakfast keynote, “System Change: Philosophy of Systemic Change,” presented by Ellen Kagan, MSW, Director of the Georgetown University Leadership Program. Elizabeth Manley, LSW, Assistant Commissioner, Children’s System of Care, New Jersey will be presenting “Preparing for Change and Involving Stakeholders” as the morning keynote. The half-day event will also include a state-of-the-agency address and rollout of the new organizational strategic plan by StarkMHAR Executive Director John Aller, and presentation of a workforce scholarship. The StarkMHAR Leadership Breakfast event is being sponsored by Schauer Group. Education credits, such as CEUs, will be awarded for applicable sessions.

Administrators, directors and clinicians from health and human service providers, in addition to medical professionals, community business leaders, elected officials and more, are invited to the StarkMHAR Leadership Breakfast. Cost is $20 to attend. Registration and a buffet breakfast is included. Register online by May 26 at StarkMHAR.org/LeadershipBreakfast.

In 2015, StarkMHAR introduced the HOPE Awards to recognize community members and exceptional work in intervention, treatment, recovery, innovation and reducing social stigma.