7 Award Winners Recognized at Leadership Breakfast Sept. 16

Categories: Featured News, News Releases

AnnualConference2016_Banner_745x278_nodetails_9-16-16Register online by Sept. 9 for the Leadership Breakfast

Stark County, OH (August 18, 2016) Stark County Mental Health & Addiction Recovery will present seven HOPE Awards to honor local people and organizations who are making strides and influencing change to advance behavioral health in Stark County on Fri, Sept. 16 at the StarkMHAR Leadership Breakfast. The event is from 7:30 a.m.- Noon and will be held at Walsh University Barrette Center located at 2020 E. Maple St. in North Canton, Ohio.

The Canton Police Department will receive the Community Champion award; Lynette Blasiman will be presented the Advocate of the Year award for her volunteer work on Fetal Alcohol Syndrome advocacy; Max Doll, a Perry graduate, will receive the Young Advocate of the Year award; and Dr. Jamesetta Lewis, of the Pain Management department at Mercy Medical Center, Major John Oliver of the Stark County Sheriff’s Office and Shonda Haymaker of Phoenix Rising Behavioral Healthcare and Recovery, Inc. will receive Professional of the Year awards. The Sandy Valley Drug Awareness Initiative and their representatives Sarah Nelson, Leanne Vucovich and Police Chief Jeff Hager will be presented with the Innovation award for their work in community awareness.

Administrators, directors and clinicians from health and human service providers, in addition to medical professionals, community business leaders, elected officials and more, are invited to the StarkMHAR Leadership Breakfast. Cost is $20 to attend. Registration and a buffet breakfast is included. Register online by Sept. 9 at StarkMHAR.org/LeadershipBreakfast.

The StarkMHAR Leadership Breakfast will feature a breakfast keynote, “Philadelphia Lessons Learned: Systemwide Service Integration of Behavioral Health Care,” presented by Roland Lamb, Deputy Commissioner Strategic Planning and Innovation Division of Philadelphia, PA. The half-day event will include additional presentations on managing change in health care and a state-of-the-agency address by StarkMHAR Executive Director John Aller. The StarkMHAR Leadership Breakfast event is being sponsored by Schauer Group and Buckeye Health Care. Education credits such as CEUs and RCHs are pending for applicable sessions.

Last year StarkMHAR introduced the HOPE Awards to recognize community members and exceptional work in intervention, treatment, recovery, innovation and reducing social stigma. Dr. John Andreozzi was the 2015 HOPE Award recipient.